Posted: Fri 14th Jun 2024

Flintshire Prepares for General Election with Updated Boundaries and Candidates Announced

North Wales news and information

VOTERS in Flintshire will be going to the polls for the next general election in less than a month.
Nominations for candidates closed at the end of last week and the final list has been published.
Residents in the county will be split into two separate constituencies, taking into account recent boundary changes.
These include an enlarged Alyn and Deeside seat, and the newly formed constituency of Clwyd East.
Here we look at how the contests are shaping up ahead of the election on Thursday, July 4, including details of who’s standing to become MP and any boundary changes.
Alyn and Deeside
Candidate list:
Edwin Duggan – Independent
Jeremy Kent – Conservative Party
Karl Macnaughton – Green Party
Richard Marbrow – Liberal Democrats
Jack Morris – Plaid Cymru
Vicki Roskams – Reform UK
Mark Tami – Labour Party
Boundary changes
The Alyn and Deeside seat has grown in size since the last general election, expanding towards Flint following the removal of the old Delyn constituency.
Places covered include Aston, Broughton, Buckley, Caergwrle, Connah’s Quay, Hawarden, Higher Kinnerton, Hope, Llanfynydd, Mancot and Penyffordd.
The seat also includes Queensferry, Saltney, Sealand, Shotton, Treuddyn, Bagillt and Flint.
Clwyd East
Candidate list:
Alec Dauncey – Liberal Democrats
James Davies – Conservative Party
Becky Gittins – Labour Party
Lee Lavery – Green Party
Paul Penlington – Plaid Cymru
Rob Roberts – Independent
Kirsty Walmsley – Reform UK
Boundary changes
This constituency covers a lot of the old Delyn seat, including Flintshire wards in Mold, Holywell, Mostyn, Caerwys, Northop and Northop Hall.
Other Flintshire locations in the constituency include Argoed, Brynford, Cilcain, Ffynnongroyw, Greenfield, Gronant, Gwernaffield, Gwernymynydd, Halkyn, Leeswood,  New Brighton, Trelawnyd and Gwaenysgor, and Whitford.
It also includes places in Denbighshire such as Prestatyn, Ruthin, Llangollen, Llandegla, Llandyrnog, Meliden and Dyserth, as well as the Llangollen Rural ward of Wrexham.
Further details on voting
The deadline for registering to vote is 11.59pm next Tuesday (June 18, 2024), or 5pm the following day for postal votes.
Since May 2023, voters are required to show a valid form of photo ID at polling stations.
For further information on how voting works, you can visit:

By Liam Randall – Local Democracy Reporter

Spotted something? Got a story? Send a Facebook Message | A direct message on Twitter | Email


Police appeal after motorhome stolen in Denbigh


Flintshire Council faces nearly £38m budget gap due to government funding shortfall


Motorcyclist airlifted to hospital with serious injuries after A5 crash


Police seek information after van stolen in Bangor


Mcdonald’s Refuses to Provide Further Information for Wrexham Drive-Thru Site


Plans for Trampoline Park in Former Debenhams Store Recommended for Approval