Posted: Fri 14th Jun 2024

Wrexham Set for General Election with New Constituency Boundaries

North Wales news and information

VOTERS in Wrexham will be going to the polls for the next general election in less than a month.
Nominations for candidates closed at the end of last week and the final list has been published.
Residents in the county borough will be split into three separate constituencies following recent boundary changes.
These include an enlarged Wrexham seat, and the newly formed constituencies of Montgomeryshire and Glyndwr, and Clwyd East.
Here are the candidates standing for the election on Thursday, July 4:
Candidate List:
Paul Ashton – Abolish the Welsh Assembly Party
Sarah Atherton – Conservative Party
Charles Dodman – Reform UK
Becca Martin – Plaid Cymru
Tim Morgan – Green Party
Andrew Ranger – Labour Party
Tim Sly – Liberal Democrats
Boundary changes
The Wrexham constituency has now been enlarged following the boundary changes, taking in some parts of the former Clwyd South seat.
The changes have seen the wards of Brymbo, Minera, Coedpoeth, Bryn Cefn, Gwenfro, New Broughton, Marchwiel, Bronington and Overton placed into the expanded Wrexham constituency.
This is in addition to other wards which were previously part of the seat.
Montgomeryshire and Glyndwr
Candidate List:
Jeremy Brignell-Thorp – Green Party
Oliver Lewis – Reform UK
Glyn Preston – Liberal Democrats
Elwyn Vaughan – Plaid Cymru
Craig Williams – Conservative Party
Steve Witherden – Labour Party
Boundary changes
This is an entirely new seat created by combining parts of the old Clwyd South and Montgomeryshire constituencies.
Some eyebrows were raised when the boundaries for this new seat were announced.
The wards from Wrexham county borough placed in the constituency include Esclusham, Ponciau, Penycae and Ruabon South, Penycae and Ruabon.
Other former Clwyd South areas included are Johnstown, Pant, Cefn, Plas Madoc, Chirk North, Chirk South and the Ceiriog Valley.
They will now be sharing an MP with areas of Powys some distance away such as Machynlleth, Newtown, Welshpool and Caersws.
Clwyd East
Candidate List:
Alec Dauncey – Liberal Democrats
James Davies – Conservative Party
Becky Gittins – Labour Party
Lee Lavery – Green Party
Paul Penlington – Plaid Cymru
Rob Roberts – Independent
Kirsty Walmsley – Reform UK
Boundary changes
This is another new seat which takes in part of the old Clwyd South, Clwyd West, Delyn and Vale of Clwyd constituencies.
This constituency covers a small part of Wrexham county borough encompassed by the Llangollen rural ward, including the villages of Froncysyllte and Trevor.
It includes locations in Denbighshire such as Prestatyn, Ruthin and Llangollen, as well as communities in Flintshire like Mold, Holywell, Mostyn, Northop and Caerwys.
Further details on voting
The deadline for registering to vote is 11.59pm next Tuesday (June 18, 2024), or 5pm the following day for postal votes.
Since May 2023, voters are required to show a valid form of photo ID at polling stations.
For further information on how voting works, you can visit:

By Liam Randall – Local Democracy Reporter

Spotted something? Got a story? Send a Facebook Message | A direct message on Twitter | Email


Police appeal after motorhome stolen in Denbigh


Flintshire Council faces nearly £38m budget gap due to government funding shortfall


Motorcyclist airlifted to hospital with serious injuries after A5 crash


Police seek information after van stolen in Bangor


Mcdonald’s Refuses to Provide Further Information for Wrexham Drive-Thru Site


Plans for Trampoline Park in Former Debenhams Store Recommended for Approval